Everything you need to know about Twitter’s updated Terms of Service

Kirsty

Book a ContentCal Demo

Looks like Twitter’s making some changes…

If you’ve been keeping an eye on the news, you’ll know that as of February 2018, Twitter announced it’s grand masterplan to stop spammy tweets and artificial messaging, once and for all.

Here’s the scoop:

No more duplicate content across multiple accounts

Twitter’s stopping it’s users from posting identical or ‘substantially similar’ content across multiple Twitter accounts. Those of you who might want to post about Pancake Day, for example, across multiple business pages or client accounts, will no longer be able to do so.

On the flip side, those who want to use Twitter for ‘seedier purposes’ (by which we mean false promo), will no longer be able to schedule tweets that rave about their products or services, later to publish from several fake profiles.

No more duplicate content across the same account

However, the new TOS don’t just apply to duplication across multiple profiles. In an attempt to stop spam tweeting, Twitter is also preventing users from posting the same content on their own account. This is something in particular that users will need to be aware of when it comes to duplicate @ mentions, replies, or just stand alone content.

No more simultaneous bulk actions such as liking, retweeting, or following from multiple accounts

And finally, Twitter will also be stopping bulk actions across multiple accounts. When we consider how many businesses are creating fake accounts to automatically like and retweet their content, it’s not hard to understand why Twitter has introduced this rule.

Those who make use of community management tools will likely see some changes in regards to carrying out bulk actions across multiple accounts in direct response to this update.

And us? Here’s ContentCal’s reaction

We’re keeping our ‘Re-Use Post’ feature

While our initial first thought was to remove our ‘re-use post’ button to avoid duplicate Twitter content, with more thought and discussion around our current workflow for content creation, we decided against this change. We’re aware that a number of our users duplicate content to be edited and changed before publication, and we wanted to maintain this flexibility of use.

However, our best advice for those who re-use content is to work from a planning perspective only, keeping the finalised content as original as possible.

We’ve removed the ability to duplicate to other calendars

Prior to these updates, ContentCal allowed users to create a post and schedule to other calendars. From today, however, we are disabling this ability for Twitter content. This is to prevent the same post from being published from multiple Twitter accounts at once, in compliance with Twitter’s new rules.

 

We’ll be keeping an eye on published ContentCal content

Of course, these changes are just as new to us and they are to everyone else. To ensure that our application isn’t violating Twitter’s terms of service, we’ll be spending extra time looking through the logs of posted content. Based on these logs, we may even make further changes to the product if we believe it to be in the best interest of our users.

But let’s be honest, it’s not the end of the world

We know our users love to duplicate content and schedule in bulk, but the truth is? Quality will always be more important than quantity.

The inability to duplicate content shouldn’t be a cause for concern when what’s really important is the content itself. As long as you’re able to create original, fun, and interesting content that your audience wants to see, then that’s all you need for social media success.

And if you need a little help getting the creative juices flowing? ContentCal is the perfect tool for social media ideation with it’s visual calendar view and features for planning and organisation.

 

Tune into our webinar on Tuesday 27th March to hear more about quality vs quantity in light of Twitter’s newest updates: http://bit.ly/2prlAB3 

Back to All Posts